The Five County Association of Governments Proudly Serves the Citizens of Southwestern Utah

Telephone: (435) 673-3548 --- Fax: (435) 673-3540

The Five County Association of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments from the five southwestern counties of the State of Utah. The five counties in southwestern Utah that comprise the Five County Association of Governments are Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Washington.

The year 2014 marks the 42nd anniversary of the formal establishment of the Association, although informal cooperation amongst the five member counties and municipalities has happened for more than half a century.

Farsighted leaders of the past envisioned the time when our world-class scenic landscapes, mild climate, beautiful communities and hard-working people would foster the evolution of a major regional center in the West. That time has arrived. Southwestern Utah has come into its own. The Five County Association of Governments is a key player in aiding locally elected officials in coping with regional challenges.

The Association has a main office location in the Tonaquint Center High Tech Business Park in St. George City and a satellite office in Cedar City. More information on the Association, including our Vision and Mission, can be viewed using the "What is The FCAOG" link on the "About" tab above. Our office addresses, as well as maps to locate them, are found using the "Contact" tab above.

Five County News


The Five County Association of Governments has the position of Community Action Planner open for applications.

Please note that an application consisting of a cover letter, a resume, and documentation of licensure, is due to the Human Resources office of the Association before 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 11, 2014. 

Click HERE to view the complete job announcement and position description, as well as specific instructions on how to apply for this position.

Every two months the Five County Association of Governments publishes a widely circulated and informative newsletter entitled "FIVE COUNTY NEWS FROM 'R' VIEW".  The latest edition, the March-April 2014 edition, was just published.   The newsletter, in hardcopy form, is mailed via first class U.S. mail to county, city and town leaders and other individuals in our five county region, as well as to other regional, state and federal agencies.  You can also conveniently view the newsletter on this web site.

Click HERE to go to the Association's newsletter page to view and/or download the latest edition of the newsletter.   (You can also view all past editions of the Association's newsletters on that same page).

The Five County Association of Government's HUD required Consolidated Plan documents housing, community, economic development, homelessness and other special needs in southwestern Utah. 

This regional Consolidated Plan is updated and amended annually by the Community & Economic Development and Human Services staff at the Association.  The plan is currently in rough draft form and may be viewed in its current draft form by using the link below.

Please click HERE to view the DRAFT Consolidated Plan.


The City of St. George Down Payment Assistance Program (DPAP) is established to provide eligible homebuyers with a loan of up to $6,000 to be applied to the down payment/closing costs of purchasing a home within the limits of St. George City. The loan is non-interest bearing; payable in full ONLY if the home is sold or transferred within ten years of purchase.  There are no payments made on the loan during those ten years.  If the home is not sold or otherwise transferred, and remains the primary residence of the purchaser for 10 years, the loan becomes a grant and the loan is forgiven.  

For more information on this program as well as to print out an application and instructions, please go to:

Also, for additional information, please contact Gary Zabriskie at e-mail: or call him at the Five County Association of Governments, (435) 673-3548.

The Five County Association of Governments has a Revolving Loan Fund. The purpose of the Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) is to create permanent, long-term jobs within the southwestern region of Utah by providing gap financing to qualified businesses for eligible activities.  Loans made through the Revolving Loan Fund are intended to help bridge the gap created by shortfalls in commercial financing. Funds are repaid into the program and recycled to other businesses, thus allowing an on-going job creation program. Funds are available in Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Washington County, Utah.

The Microloan Program focuses on loans of $25,000 or less. The importance of these loans lies in their ability to offset the difficulty that businesses experience in receiving traditional bank financing. If a candidate needs more than $25,000 they are encouraged to apply through the regular Five County Revolving Loan Fund which can provide gap financing in conjuction with a primary commercial lender. We can fund up to 50% of a project with up to $200,000 of RLF participation.

To find out more about these two loan funds, visit our seperate web site:

 The Five County Association of Governments published an Annual Report for 2012. The Annual Report was presented to, and accepted by, the Association's Steering Committee at their meeting on October 10, 2012.  The report provides brief summaries of some of the principal achievements of the Association's programs and activities which took place during the period of July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012.   The Annual Report is published as a service for the use and benefit of the elected officials in the five county region of southwest Utah; appointed boards and commissions; local, state and federal agencies; and the general public.

Click HERE to go directly to our Annual Report page where you can view and/or download the new 2012 Annual Report document.  

 For historical purposes, Annual Reports from 2001 through 2011 are also available online on that same web page.  Earlier reports are archived at the Association office.

As required by Utah Code the Five County Association of Governments publishes all of its public meetings on the "Utah Public Meeting Notice" (UPMN) web site.   You can search for our meetings by date or subject keyword.  To locate all of the meeting announcement postings published on the UPMN site by the Five County Association of Governments you can use this link and use the "Advanced Search" tab. You will need to type in the word five into the "Entity" box, highlight the "Five County Association of Governments" link that comes up, select a date range you want to view and then click on the "Submit" button. It will then show all upcoming meetings scheduled by the Five County AOG in the date range you selected. Alternatively, you can use this LINK, choose to Find a Notice, and select "Special Districts" for Government type, choose "Five County Association of Governments" for the Entity, and you will see the Public Body list with links to each of them.

Shown above are only the most recent announcements and/or news. To view all of the other news and happenings, please click HERE or on the  'News/Events' link found on this or any of our web pages. You can also use the link provided directly below:

Click Here for more info on other news and happenings at the Five County AOG.